Tour de France 2024: How to Watch a Free Livestream

Date:

See at ITV

ITV

Carries the Tour de France 2024 in the UK

See at SBS

SBS

Carries the Tour de France 2024 in Australia

Get set for three intense weeks of calf-shredding climbs and nail-biting sprints as the world’s best riders take on the 111th Tour de France.

The first four stages of this year’s race all begin in Italy, while there’s a huge break with tradition with the final stage taking place in Nice rather than Paris for the first time ever due to the Olympic and Paralympic Games being held in the French capital.

Defending champion Jonas Vingegaard is joined by fellow yellow jersey frontrunners Tadej Pogacar, Primoz Roglic, Remco Evenepoel, Wout van Aert and Mathieu van der Poel on one of the strongest start lists of recent years.

Below, we’ll outline the best live TV streaming services to use to watch the the Tour de France live wherever you are in the world.

cyclists race up a mountainside in the Tour de France, cheered on by spectators and followed by motorbikes cyclists race up a mountainside in the Tour de France, cheered on by spectators and followed by motorbikes

Michael Steele/Getty Images

Tour de France 2024: Where and when is it?

The Tour de France begins with Stage 1 in Florence on Saturday, June 29, and ends with a tradition-breaking passage from Monaco to Nice on Sunday, July 21.

A full schedule for this year’s event can be found below.

How to watch the Tour de France online from anywhere using a VPN

If you find yourself unable to view the Tour locally, you may need a different way to watch the world’s greatest cyclists — that’s where using a VPN can come in handy. A VPN is also the best way to stop your ISP from throttling your speeds on race day by encrypting your traffic, and it’s also a great idea if you’re traveling and find yourself connected to a Wi-Fi network, and you want to add an extra layer of privacy for your devices and logins.

With a VPN, you’re able to virtually change your location on your phone, tablet or laptop to get access to the game. Most VPNs, like our Editors’ Choice, ExpressVPN, make it really easy to do this.

Using a VPN to watch or stream sports is legal in any country where VPNs are legal, including the US, UK and Canada, as long as you have a legitimate subscription to the service you’re streaming. You should be sure your VPN is set up correctly to prevent leaks: Even where VPNs are legal, the streaming service may terminate the account of anyone it deems to be circumventing correctly applied blackout restrictions.

Looking for other options? Be sure to check out some of the other great VPN deals taking place right now.

Sarah Tew/CNET

Latest Tests DNS leaks detected, 25% speed loss in 2024 testsNetwork 3,000 plus servers in 105 countriesJurisdiction British Virgin Islands

ExpressVPN is our current best VPN pick for people who want a reliable and safe VPN, and it works on a variety of devices. It’s normally $13 a month, but if you sign up for an annual subscription for $100 you’ll get three months free and save 49%. That’s the equivalent of $6.67 a month with code SPECIALDEAL, which should be automatically applied.

Note that ExpressVPN offers a 30-day money-back guarantee.

Livestream Tour de France 2024 in the US

Limited linear TV coverage of this year’s Tour de France will be broadcast on NBC, with the network showing Stage 8 (Saturday, July 6) and Stage 14 (Saturday, July 13) live at 8 a.m. ET, as well as encore coverage of the penultimate Stage 20 (Saturday, July 20) at 4 p.m. ET.

For more comprehensive coverage of this year’s Tour, Peacock is where it’s at, with the streaming service showing all 21 stages of this year’s tour live and uninterrupted, as well as all the buildup and post-stage analysis.

CNET

A basic Peacock subscription will grant you access to MSNBC and live NBC News channels, priced at $6 per month. You can level things up with Peacock Premium Plus for $12 per month.

Sarah Tew/CNET

Sling TV’s Blue subscription carries access to NBC. 

The plan costs $40 monthly ($45 in some cities), though new subscribers can sign up and get their first month for half price.

YouTube TV costs $58 a month for the first 3 months for new customers and $73 a month thereafter and includes NBC in most markets. Plug in your ZIP code on its welcome page to see which local networks are available in your region.

Read our YouTube TV review.

Hulu with Live TV costs $77 a month and includes NBC in most markets. Click the “View channels in your area” link on its welcome page to see which local channels are offered in your ZIP code.

Read our Hulu with Live TV review.

Most live TV streaming services offer a free trial or discounts during the first month and allow you to cancel anytime. All require a solid internet connection. Looking for more information? Check out our live TV streaming services guide.

Livestream Tour de France 2024 in the UK for free

Free-to-air channel ITV4 will be showing every stage of this year’s tour live in the UK. This also means you’ll be able to stream all the action free via the network’s online platform ITVX.

ITV

Cycling fans in the UK can watch every stage live for free on ITV’s on demand streaming service ITVX (formerly ITV Hub) from anywhere. The service has dedicated apps for Android, Apple and Amazon Fire devices, as well as most smart TV platforms.

Stream Tour de France 2024 in Australia for free

It’s good news for cycling fans Down Under, with every stage of the Tour de France set to be broadcast for free in Australia on SBS.

Viewers can livestream Tour de France coverage on the free-to-use SBS On Demand service.

The platform has dedicated apps for Android and iOS, and you can also access the service on Android TV, Amazon Fire TV stick, Apple TV and most smart TVs.

Stream Tour de France 2024 in Canada

Dedicated cycling streaming service FloBikes is the place to watch live Tour de France coverage in Canada.

FloSPorts

A subscription to FloBikes currently costs $150 per year (roughly CA$205), or $30 per month (roughly CA$41). The service has dedicated apps for Android and Apple devices.

Tour de France 2024: Stages and full schedule

  • Saturday, June 29  – 11:30 a.m. CEST / 10:30 a.m. BST / 5:30 a.m. EDT / 2:30 a.m. PDT / 7:30 p.m. AEST Stage 1: Florence to Rimini, 206km 
  • Sunday, June 30  – 12 p.m. CEST / 11 a.m. BST / 6 a.m. EDT / 3 a.m. PDT / 8 p.m. AEST Stage 2: Cesenatico to Bologna, 199km 
  • Monday, July 1 – 11 a.m. CEST / 10 a.m. BST / 5 a.m. EDT / 2 a.m. PDT / 7 p.m. AEST Stage 3: Plaisance to Turin, 230.5km 
  • Tuesday, July  – 1 p.m. CEST / 12 p.m. BST / 7 a.m. EDT / 4 a.m. PDT / 9 p.m. AEST Stage 4: Pinerolo to Valloire, 140km 
  • Wednesday, July  – 1 p.m. CEST / 12 p.m. BST / 7 a.m. EDT / 4 a.m. PDT / 9 p.m. AEST Stage 5: Saint-Jean-de-Maurienne to Saint-Vulbas, 177.5km 
  • Thursday, July  – 12:30 p.m. CEST / 11:30 a.m. BST / 6:30 a.m. EDT / 3:30 a.m. PDT / 8:30 p.m. AEST Stage 6: Mâcon to Dijon, 163.5km 
  • Friday, July  – 12:30 p.m. CEST / 11:30 a.m. BST / 6:30 a.m. EDT / 3:30 a.m. PDT / 8:30 p.m. AEST Stage 7: Nuits-Saint-Georges to Gevrey-Chambertin, 25.3km (Individual Time-Trial) 
  • Saturday, July – 1 p.m. CEST / 12 p.m. BST / 7 a.m. EDT / 4 a.m. PDT / 9 p.m. AEST Stage 8: Semur-en-Auxois to Colombey-les-Deux-Églises, 183.5km 
  • Sunday, July 7 – 1:15 p.m. CEST / 12:15 p.m. BST / 7:15 a.m. EDT / 4:15 a.m. PDT / 9:15 p.m. AEST Stage 9: Troyes to Troyes, 199km
  • Monday, July 8 – Rest Day: Orléans 
  • Tuesday, July 9 – 1 p.m. CEST / 12 p.m. BST / 7 a.m. EDT / 4 a.m. PDT / 9 p.m. AEST Stage 10: Orléans to Saint-Amand-Montrond, 187.5km 
  • Wednesday, July 10 – 11:15 a.m. CEST / 10:15 a.m. BST / 5:15 a.m. EDT / 2:15 a.m. PDT / 7:15 p.m. AEST Stage 11: Évaux-les-Bains to Le Lioran, 211km 
  • Thursday, July 11 – 12:30 p.m. CEST / 11:30 a.m. BST / 6:30 a.m. EDT / 3:30 a.m. PDT / 8:30 p.m. AEST Stage 12: Aurillac to Villeneuve-sur-Lot, 204km 
  • Friday, July 12 – 1:30 p.m. CEST / 12:30 p.m. BST / 7:30 a.m. EDT / 4:30 a.m. PDT / 9:30 p.m. AEST Stage 13: Agen to Pau, 165.5km
  • Saturday, July 13 – 12 p.m. CEST / 11 a.m. BST / 6 a.m. EDT / 3 a.m. PDT / 8 p.m. AEST Stage 14: Pau to Saint-Lary-Soulan Pla d’Adet, 152km 
  • Sunday, July 14 – 12 p.m. CEST / 11 a.m. BST / 6 a.m. EDT / 3 a.m. PDT / 8 p.m. AEST Stage 15: Loudenvielle to Plateau de Beille, 198km 
  • Monday, July 15 – Rest Day
  • Tuesday, July 16 – 1 p.m. CEST / 12 p.m. BST / 7 a.m. EDT / 4 a.m. PDT / 9 p.m. AEST Stage 16: Gruissan to Nîmes, 189km 
  • Wednesday, July 17 – 12:30 p.m. CEST / 11:30 a.m. BST / 6:30 a.m. EDT / 3:30 a.m. PDT / 8:30 p.m.  AEST Stage 17: Saint-Paul-Trois-Châteaux to Superdévoluy, 178km 
  • Thursday, July 18 – TBC CEST / TBC BST / TBC EDT / TBC PDT / TBC AEST Stage 18: Gap to Barcelonnette, 180km 
  • Friday, July 19 – TBC CEST / TBC BST / TBC EDT / TBC PDT / TBC AEST Stage 19: Embrun to Isola 2000, 145km 
  • Saturday, July 20 – TBC CEST / TBC BST / TBC EDT / TBC PDT / TBC AEST Stage 20: Nice to Col de la Couillole, 133km
  • Sunday, July 21 – TBC CEST / TBC BST / TBC EDT / TBC PDT / TBC AEST Stage 21: Monaco to Nice, 33.7km (Individual Time-Trial)

Tour de France 2024: Teams and riders

Visma-Lease a Bike: Jonas Vingegaard (Denmark), Tiesj Benoot (Belgium), Matteo Jorgenson (United States), Wilco Kelderman (Netherlands), Christophe Laporte (France), Bart Lemmen (Netherlands), Jan Tratnik (Slovenia), Wout van Aert (Belgium)

UAE Team Emirates: Tadej Pogacar (Slovenia), Joao Almeida (Portugal), Juan Ayuso, Nils Politt (Germany), Pavel Sivakov (France), Marc Soler (Spain), Tim Wellens (Belgium), Adam Yates (Great Britain)

Jayco AlUla: Simon Yates (Great Britain),Luke Durbridge (Australia),Dylan Groenewegen (Netherlands), Chris Harper (Australia), Chris Juul-Jensen (Denmark), Michael Matthews (Australia), Luka Mezgec (Slovenia), Elmar Reinders (Netherlands)

Ineos Grenadiers: Carlos Rodriguez (Spain), Egan Bernal (Colombia), Jonathan Castroviejo (Spain), Laurens De Plus (Belgium), Michal Kwiatkowski (Poland), Tom Pidcock (Great Britain), Geraint Thomas (Great Britain), Ben Turner (Great Britain)

Lidl-Trek: Giulio Ciccone (Italy), Julien Bernard (France), Tim Declercq (Belgium), Ryan Gibbons (South Africa), Mads Pedersen (Denmark), Toms Skujins (Latvia), Jasper Stuyven (Belgium), Carlos Verona (Spain)

Decathlon AG2R La Mondiale: Felix Gall (Austria), Bruno Amirail (France), Sam Bennett (Ireland), Dorian Godon (France), Paul Lapeira (France), Oliver Naesen (Belgium), Nans Peters (France), Nicolas Prodhomme (France)

Bahrain-Victorious: Pello Bilbao (Spain), Nikias Arndt (Germany), Phil Bauhaus (Germany), Santiago Buitrago (Colombia), Jack Haig (Australia), Matej Mohoric (Slovenia), Wout Poels (Netherlands), Fred Wright (Great Britain)

Soudal Quick-Step: Remco Evenepoel (Belgium), Jan Hirt (Czech Republic), Yves Lampaert (Belgium), Mikel Landa (Spain), Gianni Moscon (Italy), Casper Pedersen (Denmark), Ilan van Wilder (Belgium), Louis Vervaeke (Belgium)

Red Bull BORA-hansgrohe: Primoz Roglic (Slovenia), Nico Denz (Germany), Marco Haller (Austria), Jai Hindley (Australia), Bob Jungels (Luxembourg), Matteo Sobrero (Italy), Danny van Poppel (Netherlands), Aleksandr Vlasov

Groupama-FDJ: David Gaudu (France), Kevin Geniets (Luxembourg), Romain Gregoire (France), Stefan Kung (Switzerland), Valentin Madouas (France), Lenny Martinez (France), Quentin Pacher (France), Clement Russo (France)

Alpecin-Deceuninck: Mathieu van der Poel (Netherlands), Silvan Dillier (Switzerland), Robbe Ghys (Belgium), Soren Kragh Andersen (Denmark), Axel Laurance (France), Jasper Philipsen (Belgium), Jonas Rickaert (Belgium), Gianni Vermeersch (Belgium)

EF Education-EasyPost: Richard Carapaz (Ecuador), Alberto Bettiol (Italy), Stefan Bissegger (Switzerland), Rui Costa (Portugal), Ben Healy (Ireland), Neilson Powless (United States), Sean Quinn (United States), Marijn van den Berg (Netherlands)

Lotto Dstny: Arnaud De Lie (Belgium), Cedric Beullens (Belgium), Victor Campenaerts (Belgium), Jarrad Drizners (Australia), Sebastien Grignard (Belgium), Maxim van Gils (Belgium), Harm Vanhoucke (Belgium), Brent van Moer (Belgium)

Israel-Premier Tech: Stevie Williams (Great Britain), Pascal Ackermann (Germany), Guillaume Boivin (Canada), Jakob Fuglsang (Denmark), Derek Gee (Canada), Hugo Houle (Canada), Krists Neilands (Latvia), Jake Stewart (Great Britain)

Cofidis: Guillaume Martin (France), Piet Allegaert (Belgium), Bryan Coquard (France), Simon Geschke (Germany), Jesus Herrada (Spain), Ion Izagirre (Spain), Alexis Renard (France), Axel Zingle (France)

Movistar: Enric Mas (Spain), Alex Aranburu (Spain), Davide Formolo (Italy), Fernando Gaviria (Colombia), Oier Lazkano (Spain), Gregor Muhlberger (Austria), Nelson Oliveira (Portugal), Javier Romo (Spain)

Arkea-B&B Hotels: Kevin Vauquelin (France), Amaury Capiot (France), Clement Champoussin (France), Arnaud Demare (France), Raul Garcia Pierna (Spain), Dan McLay (Great Britain), Luca Mozzato (Italy), Cristian Rodriguez (Spain)

Intermarche-Wanty: Louis Meintjes (South Africa), Biniam Girmay (Eritrea), Kobe Goossens (Belgium), Hugo Page (France), Laurenz Rex (Belgium), Mike Teunissen (Netherlands), Gerben Thijssen (Belgium), Georg Zimmermann (Germany)

dsm-firmenich PostNL: Romain Bardet (France), Warren Barguil (France), John Degenkolb (Germany), Nils Eekhoff (Netherlands), Fabio Jakobsen (Netherlands), Oscar Onley (Great Britain), Frank van den Broek (Netherlands), Bram Welten (Netherlands)

Astana Qazaqstan: Mark Cavendish (Great Britain), Davide Ballerini (Italy), Cees Bol (Netherlands), Yevgeniy Fedorov (Kazakhstan), Michele Gazzoli (Italy), Alexey Lutsenko (Kazakhstan), Michael Morkov (Denmark), Harold Tejada (Colombia)

Uno-X Mobility: Magnus Cort (Denmark), Jonas Abrahamsen (Norway), Odd Christian Eiking (Norway), Tobias Halland Johannessen (Norway), Alexander Kristoff (Norway), Johannes Kulset (Norway), Rasmus Tiller (Norway), Soren Waerenskjold (Norway)

TotalEnergies: Steff Cras (Belgium), Mathieu Burgaudeau (France), Sandy Dujardin (France), Thomas Gachignard (France), Fabien Grellier (France), Jordan Jegat (France)

Quick tips for streaming Tour de France 2024 using a VPN 

  • With four variables at play — your ISP, browser, video streaming provider and VPN — your experience and success when streaming the Tour de France live may vary.
  • If you don’t see your desired location as a default option for ExpressVPN, try using the “search for city or country” option.
  • If you’re having trouble getting the game after you’ve turned on your VPN and set it to the correct viewing area, there are two things you can try for a quick fix. First, log into your streaming service subscription account and make sure the address registered for the account is an address in the correct viewing area. If not, you may need to change the physical address on file with your account. Second, some smart TVs — like Roku — don’t have VPN apps you can install directly on the device itself. Instead, you’ll have to install the VPN on your router or the mobile hotspot you’re using (like your phone) so that any device on its Wi-Fi network now appears in the correct viewing location.
  • All of the VPN providers we recommend have helpful instructions on their main site for quickly installing the VPN on your router. In some cases with smart TV services, after you install a cable network’s sports app, you’ll be asked to verify a numeric code or click a link sent to your email address on file for your smart TV. This is where having a VPN on your router will also help, since both devices will appear to be in the correct location. 
  • And remember, browsers can often give away a location despite using a VPN, so be sure you’re using a privacy-first browser to log into your services. We normally recommend Brave.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:

Subscribe

spot_imgspot_img

Popular

More like this
Related

Here are all the devices compatible with iOS 18

Apple's WWDC 2024 was full of announcements about iOS...

Will Smith broke Twitch’s biggest streaming record, the real reason why

Every summer, Spanish Twitch streamer Ibai Llanos hosts a...